Skip to main content
State of Wisconsin flag

Official website of the State of Wisconsin

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Statewide Trauma Advisory Council

Wisconsin's trauma system has a strong base of support and advocacy due to the active participation of clinical experts throughout the state and representation from pre-hospital and hospital health care providers at the statewide trauma meetings. The statewide trauma meetings are open to the public and include the Statewide Trauma Advisory Council (STAC) and its subcommittee meetings, including: Trauma Coordinators, Data Management, Performance Improvement, and Injury Prevention. Meetings are scheduled quarterly and currently being held virtually until further notice.


The Wisconsin Trauma Care System's vision is to ensure that all trauma patients in the state of Wisconsin receive comprehensive trauma care.


Members of the Statewide Trauma Advisory Council (STAC) are dedicated to reducing the death and disability resulting from traumatic injuries and mass casualty events by providing a comprehensive and integrated system of care.


The purpose of STAC is to advise and provide leadership to the Department of Health Services (DHS) on issues related to the development, operation and evaluation of the statewide trauma care system.

For information on meeting minutes and agendas, use the sidebar above to navigate.

Who STAC is:

Wisconsin State Statute 15.197(25)(a) identifies STAC membership as being of thirteen voting members appointed by the Department of Health Services Secretary, ensuring that all geographic areas of the state are represented. Representation to preferentially include:

  • Four physicians who represent urban and rural areas
  • Two registered nurses as defined in s. 146.40(1)(r)
  • Two pre-hospital emergency medical services providers, including one representative of a municipality
  • Two representatives of a rural hospital
  • Two representatives of an urban hospital
  • One member of the emergency medical services boards

Current list of STAC members



This content reflects the views and opinions of the advisory council. It may not reflect the official policy or position of DHS.

Last revised August 24, 2022