ODHH: Hearing Aids Information
Where can I find general information on hearing aids?
- American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA)
- Hearing Aids 101
- Laurent Clerc: National Deaf Education Center
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
- Wisconsin Law on Hearing Aid Dealers
How do I know if my insurance covers the cost of hearing aids?
A hearing aid could cost between $1000 to $4000. It is also important to note that many insurance companies do not provide coverage for hearing aids. Wisconsin now requires health insurers to offer coverage for hearing aids and cochlear implants for children up to age 18. Various programs to assist in offsetting the cost exist at both the state and national levels.
- Your personal health care plan
- Wisconsin Law
Prior to purchasing hearing aid(s), check with your health care plan. If you are an active or retired military personnel or a dependent, check TRICARE to see if they will help cover the purchase. If a copy of the plan is not available, the employer's benefit manager can provide one.
The American Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ASHA) recommends that insured persons look for:
- Terms such as: audiology, hearing care, other rehabilitation or other medically necessary services.
- Limitations and exclusions of coverage.
- Coverage of both evaluation and treatment services.
Contact ASHA for information on insurance coverage of hearing aids, cochlear implants and related services. ASHA keeps abreast of current developments and changes in the coverage of hearing health care expenses by private insurance, Medicaid, and Medicare. Contact ASHA at:
American Speech-Language Hearing Association
1080-1 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852
301-897-5700 Voice/ TTY
800-638-8255 Voice/ TTY