Child Care Immunization

Assessment

Wisconsin state law requires licensed child care centers to annually report the immunizations
of children aged 2 to 4 years. The report is called the Child Care Immunization Assessment.

What are immunizations?

p Immunizations, also called vaccines or shots, protect children and adults from dangerous

diseases. The vaccine teaches your body how to fight off the virus to protect you from the
real disease.

What is the Child Care Immunization Assessment?

p The Child Care Immunization Assessment is a state-required report for all licensed child
care centers.

p Child care centers report how many children aged 2-4 years in the center:

» Are fully vaccinated, which means they have all of the vaccines and doses needed for
their age.

p Have a personal or religious waiver, which means they have a signed waiver stating
they have a personal or religious reason for not getting a vaccine.

p Have a medical waiver, which means they have a signed waiver from their doctor
that says they cannot receive a vaccine for health reasons.

Why do | need to complete the assessment?

» Wisconsin law requires child care centers to submit the assessment report yearly in order
to make sure children in child care centers are protected from disease.

Where can a parent find their child’s vaccine record?

» A parent or guardian can call their child’s doctor or local health department, or look up the
record online in the Wisconsin Immunization Registry at:
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/wir.htm



https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/wir.htm

What is the Child Care Assessment booklet?

» The booklet explains the law and how it applies to child care centers.
p ltincludes all the forms and directions to help centers meet the law’s reporting

requirements.
P Itincludes a paper copy of the assessment, and the link to the online assessment.
p Remember, only the online assessment needs to be submitted. Nothing should be
faxed or mailed.
» The Child Care Assessment booklet will be sent to you at the start of each year and can

also be found on our website.

How do | complete the assessment?
1. Collect all current immunization records for both part-time and full-time children

aged 2-4 years.

2. Use the Immunization Assessment form as a worksheet. You can find the
Immunization Assessment in the booklet.

3. Use the information from the Immunization Assessment to finish the online
assessment (the paper copy and online survey collect the same information).

I am confused about completing the report, is there someone | can contact?

» Your local health department can assist you with any questions about the report. For local
health department information visit https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/lh-depts/counties.htm.

What is done with the information collected from the assessment?
» The information is summarized and shared on the Wisconsin Immunization Program

website.
» The assessment provides immunization information required by Wisconsin law to the

health department.

How is the individual child’s identity protected?
» The report does not collect any identifying information about children.
»  The report only collects information on the types and total number of vaccines all the

children in the center have or are missing.

..  Child care centers must keep all children’s records up-to-date. Review .3 .3 .¢
+** records on a yearly basis to make sure you have current information.  "*:,°%:.°%:,


https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/lh-depts/counties.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/reqs.htm

CHILD CARE ENTRY: WHAT VACCINES ARE REQUIRED?

The number and type of shots (vaccines) that a child needs is based on their age.
If a child misses a dose for an age group, they must go to their doctor to make up the shot.

= One shot (a dose of vaccine) in the pictures below

Hib * DTP/DTaP/DT .’Eg’@
PCV ** MMR** * 16 - 23

Plus any vaccines the child may have missed at 5-15 months months

Polio MMR @)

Varicella Kindergarten

Plus any vaccines the child may have missed before 4 years of age age
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*Hib

Was the first shot given between 12 and 14 months of age? Then two shots are needed.
Was the first shot given after 15 months of age? Then one shot is needed.

**¥pcv Was the first shot given between 12 and 23 months of age? Then two shots are needed.
Was the first shot given after 24 months of age? Then one shot is needed.

***MMR The MMR shot must be given on or after 12 months of age. A shot given four days or less
before 12 months of age is acceptable.

****DTP/DTaP/ |Children entering kindergarten must get one shot (either the third, fourth, or fifth dose)

DT after the fourth birthday. A dose four days or less before the fourth birthday is acceptable.

Varicella Children with a reliable history of chicken pox, documented in a medical chart or through

laboratory testing or positive titer, are not required to receive the Varicella vaccine. A
physician, physician assistant, or advanced nurse prescriber must document a reliable his-
tory of varicella disease by indicating that the child has had chicken pox and signing the
Child Care Immunization Form (F-44192).

DTaP/DT/DTP Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis vaccine

Polio IPV, inactivated polio vaccine and OPV, oral polio vaccine

Hib Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine

PCV Pneumococcal conjugate, PCV13 (Prevnar 13®) or PCV15 (Vaxneuvance®)
Hep B Hepatitis B (Hep B) vaccine

MMR Measles, mumps, rubella vaccine

Varicella Chickenpox vaccine

Vaccinate Your Family https://vaccinateyourfamily.org/
Children’s Hospital of http://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/vaccine-education-center
Philadelphia

Immunization Action Coalition http://www.immunize.org/

and Prevention

The Centers for Disease Control |https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines-children/
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