

## Wisconsin's Lead-Safe Renovation Rule, DHS 163 Guidelines for Rental Property Owners and Managers

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services is approved by the U.S. EPA to administer and enforce the Lead-Safe Renovation program in Wisconsin.

Safe renovation of old housing is the best way to protect Wisconsin children from lead poisoning. Property maintenance personnel and renovators who are not trained in lead-safe work practices risk exposing themselves and occupants to lead at the job site and exposing their own families by bringing lead dust home on their work clothes.

**The Law:** Renovation work is regulated when performed for compensation in a dwelling or child-occupied facility built before 1978 and the work disturbs 6 sq. ft. or more of paint per room, 20 sq. ft. or more of exterior paint, or involves window removal. This includes rental property owners and management companies and their employees who conduct their own work on rental properties.

- 1. A rental property owner or management company doing regulated renovation work using its own employees must have a **Certified Lead-Safe Renovator** in charge of the work site. To become certified:
  - Complete the 1-day Lead-Safe Renovation Initial Course.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Apply to DHS for certification.
    - ⇒ Lead-Safe Renovator certification is \$75 and is valid for 2 years.
    - $\Rightarrow$  Certification is renewable every 2 years.
    - $\Rightarrow$  A <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub>-day Refresher course is required every 4 years.
  - ➡ Find approved training providers and forms at <u>www.dhs.wi.gov/lead</u>
  - Every renovation project must have a certified Lead-Safe Renovator in charge.
- 2. The rental property owner or management company must also be a **Certified Lead Company** (this includes self-employed owners/sole proprietors). To become a certified company:
  - $\Rightarrow$  Apply to DHS for certification.
  - ➡ Lead Company certification is \$125 and is valid for 2 years.
  - ➡ Certification is renewable every 2 years.
  - ⇒ Find application forms and other information at <u>www.dhs.wi.gov/lead</u>.

## **Have More Questions?**

Visit www.dhs.wi.gov/lead