Tony Evers Governor

Secretary

Karen E. Timberlake

State of Wisconsin
Department of Health Services

1 WEST WILSON STREET PO BOX 2659 MADISON WI 53701-2659

Telephone: 608-267-9959 Fax: 608-267-2832 TTY: 711 or 800-947-3529

February 20, 2023

To: Child Care Directors

Wisconsin state law requires that every year child care centers report on the vaccination status for children aged 2-4 years. This report is called the Child Care Immunization Assessment. The purpose of this letter is to outline steps that you can take now to prepare for the required assessment. Please note that the assessment is not yet available and is not due now.

New this year, a hard copy of the Immunization Assessment booklet will not be mailed to centers. Rather, centers will receive the Assessment booklet and instructions sent to the email that is on file with the state. Centers that do not have an email on file with the state will still receive a hard copy of the Assessment booklet in the mail.

## What is the purpose of the law?

Immunizations protect children from diseases like measles, chickenpox, or whooping cough.

If a child becomes sick, they will need to stay at home. This may mean missed income for you and missed work for parents. Some children may need to be hospitalized. By staying up to date on immunizations, children will reduce the chances of getting sick with a preventable disease.

The purpose of this report is to make sure children are getting the immunizations they need to stay healthy. This report helps health departments understand the health of children in your county and the state.

## How can I prepare for completing the Immunization Assessment?

A child's immunization record may change quickly over time. Therefore, it is important to review each child's record regularly and ask parents/guardians for any missing information. You can review immunization records throughout the year to ensure children stay up to date.

Parents can find their child's immunization record from their child's doctor or through the Wisconsin Immunization Registry which can be found at https://www.dhfswir.org/PR/clientSearch.do?language=en

At the end of this letter is a link to the Child Care Immunization Record (F-44192). You can ask parents to complete the form for each child. The form includes all the information that you will need to complete the assessment in spring 2023.

## What if a parent refuses to vaccinate a child?

In Wisconsin, if a parent refuses to vaccinate their child, they may seek either a *religious* waiver or a *personal conviction* waiver. For the purposes of the Immunization Assessment, you will need to collect the number of religious waivers and the number of personal conviction waivers.

## What if a child cannot receive a vaccine because they have a medical condition?

Rarely, a child may be unable to receive a vaccine because of certain medical conditions. In this case, they will need a *health* waiver. These health waivers will also need to be counted for the Immunization Assessment.

## What Immunizations are required for children in child care?

The number and type of immunizations that a child receives is based on their age. Please review the chart below. Children within each age range must meet the minimum requirements for their age.

AGE LEVELS	TOTAL NUMBER OF DOSES BY AGE						
5 through 15 months	2 DTP/DTaP/DT	2 Polio	2 Hib	2 PCV	2 Hep B		
16 through 23 months	3 DTP/DTaP/DT	2 Polio	3 Hib <sup>1</sup>	3 PCV <sup>2</sup>	2 Hep B	1 MMR <sup>3</sup>	
2 through 4 years	4 DTP/DTaP/DT	3 Polio	3 Hib <sup>1</sup>	3 PCV <sup>2</sup>	3 Hep B	1 MMR³	1 Varicella
At Kindergarten entrance	4 DTP/DTaP/DT <sup>4</sup>	4 Polio			3 Hep B	2 MMR³	2 Varicella

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>If the child began the Hib series at 12-14 months of age, only two doses are required. If the child received one dose of Hib at 15 months of age or after, no additional doses are required. (Note: a dose four days or less before the first birthday is also acceptable).

<sup>3</sup>MMR vaccine must have been received on or after the first birthday (Note: a dose four days or less before the first birthday is also acceptable).

<sup>4</sup>Children entering kindergarten must have received one dose after the fourth birthday (either the third, fourth, or fifth) to be compliant (Note: a dose four days or less before the fourth birthday is also acceptable).

# Why do some children have more vaccines?

Some children will have more vaccines than the state law requires. This is because the state law includes the minimum number of vaccines children need to be in child care. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and most doctors recommend additional vaccines for a child to be considered fully protected.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>If the child began the PCV series at 12-23 months of age, only two doses are required. If the child received the first dose of PCV at 24 months of age or after, no additional doses are required.

## What is a "grace period"?

A grace period allows for a dose to be counted if given four (4) days (or less) before a dose due date. Certain vaccines can be counted if they fall in the grace period. Furthermore, if a dose was administered five (5) days earlier (or more) than the due date it will not count and will be repeated. Please note that a grace period is not allowed for PCV vaccine. For further information, please review the footnotes in the chart above.

#### What will happen with the results of the Immunization Assessment?

The Immunization Assessment results are shared with both your local health department and the state Immunization Program. From there the data will be shared in two ways:

- 1. Individual child care center results will be shared with local health department health officers and staff.
- 2. Child care center results will be totaled for the whole state and then shared on the state Immunization Program website.

If you have questions about completing the Immunization Assessment, please contact your local health department.

#### How is the Assessment Submitted?

A specific assessment due date and website information will be provided with the email of the Immunization Assessment. Once you submit the Immunization Assessment, the results will automatically be sent to both the state and local health departments. If you are unable to access the internet to submit the assessment, please call 608-267-9959 when the assessment is due.

#### Resources

The Wisconsin Immunization Program has resources to answer parent/guardian questions. https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/childhood.htm

Child Care Immunization Record (F-44192): https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/library/f-44192.htm

The Immunization Action Coalition also has resources to answer parent/guardian questions about vaccines.

http://www.immunize.org/talking-about-vaccines/responding-to-parents.asp

Vaccinate Your Family, a non-profit organization that champions all children having access to vaccines has resources for talking to parents/guardians.

http://ymiclassroom.com/lesson-plans/ecbt/

https://www.vaccinateyourfamily.org/vaccine-resources/