
EXAMPLE

Case : 0000000000 Date : MM/DD/YYYY Page 1 of 05 

RETURN ADDRESS 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Mailing Date: MM/DD/YYYY 

000001 
MAILING ADDRESS 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

State of Wisconsin 
Case #: 0000000000 

Milwaukee Enrollment Services 
Worker: IMA WORKER

Phone #: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX 
Fax #: (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Use fax # to send verifications.

The State of Wisconsin is an equal opportunity service provider. This letter contains information 
that affects your benefits. If you need this material in a different format because of a disability or 
if you need this letter translated or explained in your own language, please call 1-888-794-5556. 
These services are free. 

REFERRAL TO THE FOODSHARE EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING (FSET) 
PROGRAM  

You and/or other members of your household have been referred to the FoodShare Employment and 
Training (FSET) program. The FSET program is a free program available to all FoodShare members to help 
build job skills and find employment. For those who need to meet the work requirement for able-bodied 
adults without dependents in order to keep getting FoodShare benefits, taking part in the FSET 
program is one way to meet that requirement. 

There are two types of referrals to the FSET program: 

1. Referrals for FoodShare members who need to meet the work requirement (this type of referral is
called a Time-Limited FoodShare Referral).

2. Referrals for FoodShare members who do not need to meet a work requirement but who ask to take
part in the FSET program (this type of referral is called a Voluntary Referral).

More information about each of these referral types can be found on page 2 of this letter. 

The table on page 2 lists the members of your household who have been referred to the FSET program and 
shows what type of referral they received, as well as the date they can begin taking part in the FSET 
program. (Note: FoodShare members can start taking part in the FSET program when their FoodShare 
benefits begin.)  

An FSET agency in your area will contact each person listed in the table to set up an appointment to enroll in 
the FSET program. 
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HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS WHO HAVE BEEN REFERRED TO THE FSET PROGRAM 

Member Name Referral Type Begin Month 
ANNA Time Limited FoodShare Mar. 2017 
JOHN Time Limited FoodShare Apr. 2016 

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT REFERRAL TYPES 

Time-Limited FoodShare Referral 
Individuals with this referral type need to meet the work requirement to continue receiving FoodShare. They 
may only get up to three months of time-limited FoodShare benefits in a 36-month (three-year) period, unless 
they meet the FoodShare work requirement or meet an exemption.  

There are three ways to meet the work requirement: 
1. Work at least 80 hours each month.
2. Take part in an allowable work program, such as FSET, Wisconsin Works (W-2), or certain programs

under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), at least 80 hours each month.
3. Both work and take part in an allowable work program for a combined total of at least 80 hours each

month.

A member of your household may be considered exempt and may not need to meet the work requirement if 
any of the following are true: 

• The individual is living with a child under age 18 who is part of the same FoodShare household.
• The individual is the primary caregiver for a person who cannot care for himself or herself.
• The individual is the primary caregiver for a dependent child under age 6.
• The individual is physically or mentally unable to work.
• The individual is pregnant.
• The individual is receiving or has applied for unemployment insurance.
• The individual is taking part in an alcohol or other drug abuse (AODA) program.
• The individual is enrolled in an institution of higher learning at least half-time.
• The individual is a high school student

Those who meet an exemption from the work requirement may need to provide proof of their exemption. 
See the last page of this letter for items that can be used as proof of an exemption.  

To provide proof of an exemption, complete the Proof of Work Requirement Exemption form in this letter and 
return it along with any proof to: 

If you live in Milwaukee County: If you do not live in Milwaukee County: 
MDPU  CDPU 
PO Box 05676  PO Box 5234 
Milwaukee WI 53205 Janesville, WI 53547-5234 
Fax: 1-888-409-1979 Fax: 1-855-293-1822 

If you have an exemption from the work requirement and you already provided proof, you do not need to take 
any other action at this time. 

Voluntary Referral 
Individuals with this referral type asked to take part in the FSET program but do not need to meet the work 
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requirement for able-bodied adults without dependents. If a member with a Voluntary Referral no longer wants to 
take part in FSET, contact the agency listed on page 1 of this letter. FoodShare benefits will not decrease or 
end if a member with a Voluntary Referral does not take part in FSET activities. 

If you have any questions, contact the agency listed on page 1. 
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PROOF OF WORK REQUIREMENT EXEMPTION 

WMSC 

Instructions: If anyone in the household meets any of the below, check the box and write their name 
in the space provided. See the section listed for items you can use to provide proof. 

Work Requirements – See Section A on the back if you checked any of these boxes. 
□ Working at least 80 hours each month. Name(s): 

□ Taking part in an allowable work program such as
FSET, Wisconsin Works (W-2), or programs under 
WIA at least 80 hours each month. 

□ Both working and taking part in an allowable work
program for a combined total of at least 80 hours 
each month. 

Name(s): 

Name(s): 

Providing Care for Another Person – See Section B on the back if you checked any of these boxes. 

□ Living with a minor child under the age of 18. Name(s): 

□ Caring for a person who cannot care for himself or
herself. 

□ Caring for a child under age 6 who does not live in
the home. 

Name(s): 

Name(s): 

Health Conditions – See Section C on the back if you checked either of these boxes. 
□ Unable to work due to a physical or mental health

condition.
Name(s): 

□ Pregnancy. Name(s): 

Unemployment Insurance – See Section D on the back if you checked this box. 
□ Applied for or receiving unemployment insurance. Name(s): 

Alcohol or Substance Abuse Program – See Section E on the back if you checked this box. 
□ Taking part in an alcohol or substance abuse

(AODA) program. 
Name(s): 
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ITEMS YOU CAN USE TO PROVIDE PROOF 

Section A – Work Requirements 

· All check stubs received in the last 30 days
· A signed statement from employer that includes gross earnings, hours worked and pay dates

expected in the next 30 days
· An Employer Verification of Earnings form - to get a copy of this form, contact your agency

listed on page 1 or call Member Services at 1-800-362-3002
· A statement from an allowable employment program that includes participation hours

Section B – Providing Care for another Person 

· A signed statement from the parent or legal guardian
· Custody agreement

Section C – Health Conditions 

· Note or letter from a certified healthcare provider confirming pregnancy, physical or mental
health condition

· Approval letter from the State Disability Determination Bureau
· Award letter from the Social Security Administration

Section D – Unemployment Compensation 

· Current award letter
· Copy of last check
· Bank statements

Section E – Alcohol or Substance (AODA) Program 

· Letter from an AODA counselor
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