

WISCONSIN INTER-COUNTY AGREEMENT FOR CHIPS, JIPS AND YOUTH JUSTICE CASES

VERSION 3 JUNE 2023

WISCONSIN INTER-COUNTY AGREEMENT CHIPS, JIPS AND YOUTH JUSTICE CASES (June 2023)

This revision supersedes any previous interagency agreement. This agreement is intended to create a procedural structure that supports and facilitates open communication and collaboration between county human service and social service departments and the DCF Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services when decisions must be made regarding:

- CPS Access
- CPS Initial Assessment
- Juvenile Court Intake
- Case Transition between counties
- Courtesy Supervision
- Placement
- Funding responsibility
- Jurisdiction
- Venue
- Other inter-county issues under Chapters 48 and 938 of the Wisconsin Statutes

It is acknowledged that this agreement cannot cover all situations that might arise and open communication and good social work practice, on a case-by-case basis, are vital to ensure that the best interests of children, families and the public are served. In the event that an agreement cannot be reached, please refer to Addendum B for further guidance.

Standards should be reviewed prior to considering the inter-county agreement as this agreement is not intended to override statutes and/or practice standards.

DEFINITIONS

County of Residence/ Home County: For purposes of the Chapters 48 and 938 venue statutes, the Wisconsin Supreme Court has equated the word "resides" with the word "residence" and has determined "residence" to mean "domicile", i.e.: *The county where the child's primary custodial parent(s) as defined below, or the court appointed guardian of the person of the child, resides and has resided* for at least 6 months with the intent to make it a fixed and permanent home. Residence is not established when a parent/guardian or child lives in a place for "mere special or temporary purposes," (less than 6 months). For purposes of the venue statutes, a child who is living in a court ordered placement does not "reside" there. The Wisconsin Supreme Court has determined that a child's county of residence will, in almost all cases, be that of his or her parents. Infants born to mothers in court ordered placements are the responsibility of the placing county. <u>State v Corey J.G.</u>, 215 Wis. 2nd 394 (1998).

A variety of credible sources should be utilized and relied upon, such as school enrollment records, childcare records, reporter information, probation and parole, and CARES. Residence should not be based solely on CARES because CARES is not always up to date or accurate. Family arranged plans for the child do not constitute residence – county of residence remains with the parent or guardian. If a primary custodial parent or guardian absconds and county of residence is unknown, the last known county of residence remains the county of residence until the primary custodial

parent or guardian establishes a new county of residence. Prior to using the residence of a nonprimary parent, consideration needs to be given to the status of the relationship and the frequency of contact between the non-primary contact and the child.

If a child/youth's custodial parent(s)/guardian have lived in a county for at least 6 consecutive months, that county shall be presumed to be the child/youth's home county unless there is credible evidence to the contrary.

Jail, prison, and hospitals should not be considered for residency. In conjunction with other credible sources, continuously residing in the same county in a homeless shelter, domestic violence shelter, and hotel may be considered toward 6 months of residence. Additionally, crossing county lines to give birth to a baby does not make the baby a resident of the county in which it is born.

County of Financial Responsibility: The County that is financially responsible for the placement and services provided to a child/juvenile/family, whether court ordered or voluntary. The county of responsibility will most often be the county of venue, as defined in the law.

If the county is ONLY providing financial payments (e.g. Voluntary Kinship Care, Kinship Subsidized Guardianship, and Adoption Subsidy) the payment does not constitute or determine residence for new referrals or any further case management responsibilities.

Courtesy Assistance/Services: Courtesy Assistance/Services is an arrangement between two or more counties to provide interviews for initial assessment, home visits, interviews for confirming safe environments, caseworker contacts, etc. Requests for courtesy assistance are based on family need, good practice standards, and practical efficiencies (i.e. available resources, distance – over 60 miles or 1 hour from county seat). The requesting county shall provide a verbal/written request outlining specific expectations to the receiving county.

Courtesy Supervision: Courtesy Supervision is a cooperative arrangement between two or more counties to provide, or continue to provide, services to children/juveniles and their families who are the subject of a dispositional order, consent decree, Deferred Prosecution Agreement and Informal Dispositional Agreement. The sending county shall provide a written request and specific expectations to the receiving county. (Please refer to Addendum A for the suggested protocol for courtesy supervision.) When initiating a transfer of venue the sending county shall request courtesy supervision of the receiving county. All counties shall utilize the "Notice of Client Change of County Residence" form in eWiSACWIS, and send it to the receiving county to 1) notice the county of a client changing residence and 2) to request courtesy supervision.

Custodial Parent: If the child/youth is the subject of a family court custody order, custodial parent is determined by these factors: the parent with "sole legal custody;" if "joint legal custody" the parent with primary placement; if shared placement, the parent with the majority of the placement time. If equal shared placement or no court order, the "custodial parent" will be the parent with whom the child/juvenile lives more often; if the parents live in different school districts, the parent that lives in the district in which the child/juvenile is enrolled.

Director: The director of the county human services, health and human services, or social services department or Department of Children and Families Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services (DMCPS)

Guardian: An adult appointed guardian of the person of the child by a juvenile or probate court pursuant sec. 48.9795, Wis. Stats. or an adult appointed guardian of a child pursuant to Wis. Stats. 48.977

Parent: See definition found in sec. 48.02 (13), Wis. Stats.

Required Notification: In accordance with the statutes, a county department, as soon as practicable (within 30 days) after learning that a person who is receiving child/juvenile welfare services per 48.57(1) or 938.57(1), from the county department has changed his or her county of residence, *shall* provide notice of that change to the county department of the person's new county of residence. The notice shall include a brief, written description of the services offered or provided to the person by the county department and the name, telephone number, and address of a person to contact for more information. 48.57(2m). Form DCF-F-CFS2406 *will* be used.

Venue: The County in which a court with jurisdiction may hear and decide a case. See <u>State v</u> <u>Corey J. G.</u>, 215 Wis, 2^{nd} 394, 405 (Par. 18). (Venue "refers to the place of trial, the particular county or district or similar geographical area within which a case is to be heard.") For the purposes of initiating a Chapter 48 proceeding, venue is either in the county where the child, or the expectant mother of an unborn child, resides or is present at the time the petition is filed. For the purposes of initiating a proceeding under Chapter 938, venue is either in the county where the juvenile resides or is present at the time the petition of law occurred (48.185 and 938.185).

Policy and Procedure

It is the consensus of the parties to this Agreement that the county where the child/juvenile resides with his/her custodial parent(s) or legal guardian(s) is the most appropriate *venue* for a case to be handled. The county of residence will often have had previous or ongoing contact with the child/juvenile and family and is able to provide the juvenile court with complete and reliable information on which to base physical custody, dispositional, and post-dispositional decisions. In situations where a family requires services to be provided to ensure for child safety, the county of residence is most often best situated to engage the family in those services. Standards should be the first point of consultation on any multi-county reports.

I. CPS Access

A. Refer to the Access and Initial Assessment Standards.

II. CPS Initial Assessment

A. Refer to the Access and Initial Assessment Standards.

III. Court Intake

- A. As a general rule (see individual county juvenile court intake policies for exceptions), venue for any juvenile court proceeding under Chapters 48 and 938, Wis. Stats., shall be in the county where the child/juvenile resides with his/her custodial parents(s) or guardian(s) and all referrals shall be made to that county's department of human/social services. In Chapter 48 cases, a family arranged plan with a relative does not determine venue. In Chapter 938 cases, follow statute 938.185 venue is determined either where the child/youth resides or where the child/youth is present.
- B. For delinquency and status offense cases-act committed outside of the county of residence.
 - 1. The intake worker of the county where the act was committed shall send a copy of the law enforcement referral to the intake worker or designee of the youth's county of residence. The county where the act was committed and the county of residence shall share all relevant information regarding the child/juvenile and his/her family and shall work together to determine the most appropriate venue and disposition.
 - 2. Children/juveniles living in out-of-county juvenile court ordered placements or under voluntary placement agreements (VPA).
 - (a) The court that issued the placement order retains venue under the terms of the original placement order and therefore, a copy of the law enforcement referral shall be forwarded to the intake worker or designee of issuing court.
 - (b) The county where the act was committed and the county of the court that issued the placement order or the county that was a party to the VPA shall share all relevant information regarding the child/juvenile and his/her family and shall work together to determine the most appropriate venue and disposition in the case.

Revised: 5/26/2023

- (c) If a child/youth's parent/guardian change residence during the term of the order or VPA, a copy of the law enforcement referral shall also be forwarded to the chief intake officer or designee of the new county of residence and that county shall also be consulted regarding the most appropriate venue and disposition in the case.
- 3. If the district attorney or the corporation counsel of the county where the act was committed files the petition and will not refer the case to the district attorney or corporation counsel of the county of residence for disposition.
 - (a) The county in which the petition is filed shall immediately contact the county of residence (and for children/juveniles in placement, the county of the court which issued the placement order, or, if venue was transferred, to the new county of venue) [hereinafter, the 'other county''] to discuss the status of the case and to work toward a mutually agreeable dispositional recommendation. The county where the act was committed and the other county shall share all relevant information in their possession regarding the child/juvenile and his/her family.
 - (b) Timely and adequate notice of the date and time of the dispositional hearing shall be provided to the other county and said county shall be given an opportunity to either testify at the dispositional hearing or present a written statement to the court.
 - (c) The county in which the petition is filed retains financial responsibility for any placement or services as a result of that petition, unless or until there is a written agreement between agency directors (or designee) to shift financial responsibilities.

IV. Custody and Release of Out-of-County Children/Youth

- A. The intake worker in the county where the child/youth is present and is taken into custody (the "holding county") is responsible for and has the authority to make the custody and release decision.
 - 1. If a child/juvenile is taken into custody by a county other than his or her county of residence and is not released, the intake worker to whom the child/juvenile is delivered will contact the child/juvenile's county of residence immediately (i.e. at the point of first contact) to discuss the custody decisions and to exchange information regarding the child/juvenile/family (dangerousness, history, surrounding circumstances), as permitted by ss. 48.78, 48.981(7) and 938.78, Wis. Stats., and to jointly explore release options (parents, relatives, runaway home, etc.)
 - 2. If no release options are available or if safety considerations for the child/juvenile or community preclude release, it will be the responsibility of the county of residence to arrange for the child/juvenile's transportation back to the county of residence or preferred facility as soon as possible, optimally within 24 hours of the time the decision to hold the child/juvenile was made, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. Counties of residence shall assume responsibility for custody of their children unless there is an agreement by both the holding county and the county of residence

that initiating proceedings in the holding county is best for the child or family.

- 3. In the event the county of residence is unable to arrange transportation within the 24-hour period described above, the holding county will request a 72-hour extension under 48.21(1)(b), or a 48-hour extension under 938.21(1)(b), if the holding county determines, after consultation with the county of residence, that the facts of the case will support such an extension. The holding county will also immediately deliver to the county of residence (through eWiSACWIS or other electronic means) the law enforcement referral and a copy of the Temporary Physical Custody Request in order to assure compliance with all statutory time limits for filing a petition and timelines regarding out of home placements.
- 4. If the holding county decides to detain a child/juvenile over the objection of the county of residence, the holding county shall be responsible for the related detention/shelter/placement costs.
- 5. If the holding county and county of residence agree to continue to detain a child/juvenile in the holding county facility/placement, the county of residence shall be responsible for the related detention/shelter/placement costs.
- 6. If the emergency custody hearing is held in the holding county, the holding county shall insure that all judicial findings required by the <u>Adoption and</u> <u>Safe Families Act (ASFA)</u> of 1997 (P.L. 105-89), are timely made and properly recorded.
- 7. The holding county and county of residence will work cooperatively to coordinate detention hearings, provide complete and reliable information to the court, verify placement date, etc. Each county understands that if a case is initiated in another county (not county of residence), as per this agreement or mutual decision, the county of residence has a responsibility to provide information, records, and witness testimony as requested for the legal proceedings.
- B. Under Chapter 48, services for an <u>unborn child</u>, who may be at risk of abuse due to the expectant mother's habitual use of drugs, are the responsibility of the mother's county of residence. If, while the mother is away from her county of residence, the county where the mother is present determines that the unborn child is in immediate danger, the county where the mother is present shall make every reasonable effort to consult with the county of the expectant mother's residence prior to taking custody of the mother. Efforts to return the mother to the county of residence should be consistent with section III.A. above.
- C. Under Chapter 938, except as provided in III.A.4., above, if the holding county complies with III.A.1. above, all detention or placement costs incurred by the holding county will be the responsibility of the county of residence (or, when the child/juvenile is already the subject of a court order or voluntary placement agreement, the county of the court that issued the order or the county that is a party to the placement agreement) unless otherwise agreed upon by between the counties.

V. <u>Transfer of Venue</u>

A transfer of venue merely establishes the location (venue) for any subsequent required court hearings or permanency plan reviews. The statutes governing the transfer of venue from one county's juvenile court to another are silent regarding the subsequent transfer of supervision and financial responsibility from the original county of residence/venue (the requesting county) to the new county of residence/venue (the receiving county).

A. Prior to the Transfer of Venue

- 1. <u>Required Notification</u>: In accordance with the statutes, a county department, will as soon as practicable (within 30 days) after learning that a person who is receiving child/youth welfare services per 48.57(1), from the county department has changed his or her county of residence, *shall* provide notice of that change to the county department of that person's new county of residence. The notice shall include a brief, written description of the services offered or provided to the person by the county department and the name, telephone number, and address of a person to contact for more information. 48.57(2m), 938.57(2m). Form DCF-F-CFS2406 *may* be used.
- 2. <u>Courtesy Supervision:</u> Within 30 days of the date that the county of venue (sending county) learns that the custodial parent (with the child, in community supervision cases) has established a new county of residence (receiving county), the sending county shall request the receiving county to provide courtesy supervision, unless otherwise agreed to by the respective counties. (See Addendum A) In accordance with the on-going standards the case workers from the sending and receiving counties must schedule a case transition staffing.
- 3. <u>County of Responsibility:</u> The sending county shall retain financial responsibility for any placement or community-based services included in the dispositional order for up to 60 days after the date of an order transferring venue to the receiving county. This is contingent upon the sending county's compliance with courtesy supervision and proper notice. The additional 60 days allows the receiving county adequate time to access possible alternative services within their county.
- 4. <u>Documentation Responsibilities:</u> Prior to the request to transfer venue, the requesting County shall ensure all case documentation is accurate and complete within eWiSACWIS, including case notes, and that a current and valid court order is in place.
- B. Motion for Transfer of Venue
 - <u>Time for Filing</u>. A post-disposition motion for transfer of venue may be filed at any time after the issuance of the dispositional order if the following exists:
 - (a) The custodial parent(s)/guardian(s) (with the child/juvenile for purposes of community supervision orders) have resided in their new county of residence for at least 6 consecutive months (regardless of dispositional date); and

1.

- (b) It is evident that the new county of residence of the parent(s)/guardian(s) fits the definition/requirements of county of residence (see definitions); and
- (c) As best practice, a discussion between the 2 Departments (between supervisors, in most cases) should occur before the filing of the motion.
- 2. Adequate Notice of Motion to Transfer Venue.
 - (a) Venue transfers shall be initiated by written motion. The motion (or the supporting affidavit) shall contain all of the relevant facts which support the conclusion that the parent(s)/guardian(s) have established a permanent residence in the receiving county.
 - (b) A copy of the motion and, if available, the supporting affidavit, shall be mailed to the
 - i. Corporation Counsel and/or District Attorney of the receiving county.
 - ii. Director of the Human/Social Service Department of the receiving county.
 - iii. If the receiving county has been providing courtesy supervision, a copy of the motion and affidavit shall also be mailed or sent electronically to the assigned worker and supervisor in the receiving county.
 - (c) Notice of motion must be mailed 30 days prior to the hearing on the Motion and 60 days prior to the expiration of the current dispositional order. This is intended to allow the RECEIVING county an adequate amount of time to review the facts of the case and, if warranted, file its own petition for extension or hold its own permanency plan review.
- C. If the sending county is unable to provide the receiving county with at least 60 days notice prior to an order expiring or a permanency plan review is due, then the sending county shall complete all required paperwork. When possible, the order for transfer of venue to the receiving county should not be issued until after hearing has been held. The receiving county shall be given an opportunity to participate in the Revision/Extension/Permanency Plan Review (12-month) hearing.
- D. Venue Transfer between Adjudication and Disposition.
 - 1. Available in delinquency cases (chapter 938) only.
 - 2. Venue may be transferred to the county of residence immediately after adjudication.
 - 3. A motion to transfer venue is not required.
 - 4. Transfer requires the agreement of the sending and receiving county departments, the prosecutor of each county and the juvenile courts of each county.
 - 5. The involved county departments shall coordinate their efforts to bifurcate the case.

- E. Unless the receiving county has credible information which raises legitimate questions regarding the duration or permanency of the parent(s)'/guardian(s)' (and, in chapter 938 cases, the child/juvenile's) residence in the receiving county, it is best practice for the receiving county to not contest the motion to transfer venue.
- F. After the transfer of venue order is issued, the receiving county shall file all subsequently required petitions for extension and conduct all future permanency plan reviews as determined appropriate by that county, unless notice is less than 60 days as described in section IV C.
- G. If a case transfer staffing did not occur prior to transfer of venue, a case transfer staffing should occur at a mutually agreed upon time within 5 working days of the transfer of venue decision.
- H. Record Transfer. Within 5 working days after the venue transfer order is issued, the sending county shall provide receiving county with any documents that were not previously shared or accessible through a shared database.

VI. Inter-County Placements

- A. A county may request the placement of a child in a foster home licensed by another county without transfer of venue. The request may be verbal or written and the county that licensed the home (licensing county) shall review the placement request and respond in a timely manner. Under no circumstances shall a county ("placing county") place a child in a foster home licensed by another county without the consent of the licensing county.
- B. Confirming Safe Environments in Emergent Situations: When a sending county is placing a child in an unlicensed home in a receiving county including on-call/after hours situations, the sending county may request that the receiving county assist with the requirement of confirming safe environments. Timeliness expectations should be clarified prior to an agreement. If receiving county is unable to assist or meet timeliness expectations, the sending county is still responsible for safety and CSE.
- C. Crisis and Disaster Preparedness Planning: In general, the county where the child is present will be responsible for the immediate protection of the child in an emergency. Nevertheless, the placing county must be ready to respond immediately when needed.

Attachments: Signature pages, pages 10 - 12 Addendum A – Wisconsin Inter-County Agreement CHIPS, JIPS, and Youth Justice Cases checklist Addendum B – Wisconsin Inter-County Agreement CHIPS, JIPS, and Youth Justice Cases Resolution Form

telly Oleson	7/17/2023
Adams County	Date
ting Baningham	8/14/2023
Ashland County	Date
Stacy Frolik	8/31/2023
Barron County	Date
Elizabeth Skulan	8/2/2023
Bayfield County	Date
Jeremy kral	9/19/2023
Brown County	Date
Dave Kynders	7/21/2023
Buffalo County	Date
Ashley Williams	7/21/2023
Burnett County	Date
todd Romenesko	7/22/2023
Calumet County	Date
Timothy Easter	8/1/2023
Chippewa County	Date
Shanna Okufi	7/24/2023
Clark County	Date
Heather Gove	10/24/2023
Columbia County	Date
Daniel McWilliams	7/24/2023
Crawford County	Date
Astra lucukumere	9/5/2023
Dane County	Date
Becky Bell	11/27/2023
Dodge County	Date
JosephtKubeboch	8/17/2023
Door County	Date

Anna Carlson	7/25/2023
Douglas County	Date
Paula Winter	7/25/2023
Dunn County	Date
Angela Weideman	7/21/2023
Eau Claire County	Date
Ann Price	8/31/2023
Florence County	Date
Jamie Sigafus	7/21/2023
Fond du Lac County	Date
Tracy Schmacher	7/21/2023
Forest County	Date
Fred Naaty	7/26/2023
Grant County	Date
Daniel Williams	7/21/2023
Green County	Date
Jason Jerome	8/16/2023
Green Lake County	Date
thomas Slaney	7/21/2023
Iowa County	Date
Cally Bucknell	8/29/2023
Iron County	Date
Christine Hovell	7/23/2023
Jackson County	Date
Brent Ruhlow	7/21/2023
Jefferson County	Date
Dawn Buduliolz	7/21/2023
Juneau County	Date
Samantha kerkman	8/10/2023
Kenosha County	Date

Inter-County Agreement CHIPS, JIPS and Delinquency Cases Page 11

Melissa Annoye	7/21/2023
Kewaunee County	Date
Jason Witt	10/25/2023
La Crosse County	Date
Shane Schuhmacher	7/21/2023
Lafayette County	Date
John J. Benkonich	7/21/2023
Langlade County	Date
Jessi Runsey	7/25/2023
Lincoln County	Date

Lori Fure	7/21/2023
Manitowoc County	Date
Cpusta Junsin	7/24/2023
Marathon County	Date
<u>Glen Sartorelli</u>	7/26/2023
Marinette County	Date
Mardy Stanley	7/21/2023
Marquette County	Date
Shannon Wilber	9/11/2023
Menominee County	Date
* <u>Shakita LaGrant-McClain</u>	8/22/2023
Milwaukee County DHHS	Date
Tracy May	7/21/2023
Monroe County	Date
Scott Shackleford	7/21/2023
Oconto County	Date
Mary Rideout	7/21/2023
Oneida County	Date
John Rathman	7/31/2023
Outagamie County	Date

Liza Drake	7/25/2023
Ozaukee County	Date
	7/21/2023
Pepin County	Date
Julie krings	7/21/2023
Pierce County	Date
Tonya Eichelt	7/25/2023
Polk County	Date
kim Vagueiro	8/1/2023
Portage County	Date
Sarah Keese-Socha	7/24/2023
Price County	Date
Hope Otto	10/5/2023
Racine County	Date
Tricia Clements	7/24/2023
Richland County	Date
kate Luster	8/22/2023
Rock County	Date
Jeremy Jacobs	7/24/2023
Rusk County	Date
Bob Koluret	7/21/2023
Saint Croix County	Date
Jessica Mijal	8/31/2023
Sauk County	Date
Julia Lyons	11/27/2023
Sawyer County	Date
Richard J. Kane	7/24/2023
Shawano County	Date
Matt Strittmater	8/1/2023
Sheboygan County	Date
Suzanne Stanfley	7/21/2023
Taylor County	Date

Revised: 5/26/2023

*Milwaukee County DHHS will follow the agreement with the exception of point IV.A.5.

Inter-County Agreement CHIPS, JIPS and Delinquency Cases Page 12

Jay Hein	8/16/2023
Trempealeau County	Date
Sill Bender	7/21/2023
Vernon County	Date
kathryn Gardner	8/3/2023
Vilas County	Date
Carlo Minicosi	9/11/2023
Walworth County	Date
Marie Schrankel	7/21/2023
Washburn County	Date
Julie Driscoll	7/21/2023
Washington County	Date
Elizabeth Aldred	7/28/2023
Waukesha County	Date
theodore & Phemetton	7/21/2023
Waupaca County	Date
Clara Voigtlander	8/23/2023
Waushara County	Date
Bill Topel	7/27/2023
Winnebago County	Date
BKV-	7/24/2023
Wood County	Date
Sarah Henery	8/7/2023
Division of Milwaukee Child	Protective

Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services Date

the X-stands statement specification and the

ADDENDUM A: WISCONSIN INTER-COUNTY AGREEMENT CHIPS, JIPS, AND YOUTH JUSTICE CASES CHECKLIST

Temporary Physical Custody

Determine county of residence and call that county as soon as possible

Make Custody Decision (preferably with County of Residence)

Complete Temporary Physical Custody Form

Conduct Face-to-Face prior to placement (secure placement only)

Confirm Safe Environment within 24 hours (if necessary)

Chief Intake Worker shall consult with District Attorney/Corporation Counsel on decision to file a petition

Detention Hearing may be held in county where custody occurs if determined necessary by the District Attorney OR the county of residence requests assistance due to the inability to coordinate transport and a hearing in a timely fashion. If District Attorney decides to hold a Detention Hearing, make every effort to inform county of residence the date and time of that hearing.

____Send law enforcement referral, Temporary Physical Custody form, and any other necessary paperwork to county of residence Chief Intake Worker as soon as possible

Courtesy Supervision/Services

Sending County

Identify appropriate county to request courtesy supervision/services

<u>**Required Notification**</u> – Notify county within 30 days of the family's

relocation using Notice of Client Change of County Residence in eWiSACWIS...

Notification shall include:

____Name and address of family and Phone #

Background of case/Social History/Case History

Description of current services/treatment needs

Description/List of requested services (e.g. Assessments, Case Plans, Risk

- Assessment, supervised visits including frequency, frequency of contact)
- __Attach most recent court report or indicate whether report is available in statewide database
 - Indicate whether a future transfer of venue is anticipated

Receiving County

Respond to sending county's request within 21 days

Notify sending county name of assigned worker

Sending County

__Contact receiving county within 10 days of their county's acceptance, and

schedule case transfer/transition (can be via phone).

Prior to case transfer/transition, provide the receiving county the Dispositional

Order, Assessments and case documentation per the Child Protective Services Ongoing Standards available to receiving county.

Best practice is to notify all involved parties on record what county is providing courtesy supervision

Transfer of Venue

____Discussion with receiving county (preferably between supervisors or DA/Corp Counsel)

___Complete Notice of Motion

___Complete Affidavit with supporting facts

__Provide copies (30 days prior to hearing) of motion to:

District Attorney/Corporation Counsel

- Juvenile Attorney and/or Parent Attorney
- Director (or designee) of receiving county
- Juvenile and Parents
- Worker providing courtesy supervision

ADDENDUM B: WISCONSIN INTER-COUNTY AGREEMENT CHIPS, JIPS, AND YOUTH JUSTICE RESOLUTIONS

There will be situations when there is a disagreement between counties. It is recommended that in those situations the following procedure is followed:

- 1. The assigned social workers, from the respective counties/DMCPS will reference the Intercounty agreement and try to come up with a resolution.
- 2. If no resolution, the assigned social workers will identify the specific issue or concern in dispute and reference the section in the county agreement to resolve the disagreement.
- 3. The assigned supervisor/manager, from the respective counties/DMCPS will review the issue or concern reference the county agreement to resolve the disagreement.
- 4. If no resolution, the supervisor/manager workers will forward the issue/complaint to their County Director for review and resolution.
- 5. The County Directors, from their respective counties/DMCPS, will reference the Intercounty agreement and try to come up with a resolution.
- 6. The form below is optional. Documentation of the discussion and outcome may be desired by one or both of the counties involved.

Ecomo A.

FORM A:	
Sending County Information	Receiving County Information
Name:	Name:
Address:	Address:
Phone:	Phone:

- 1. Describe the nature of your issue or concern, including the specific section in the Inter-County Agreement that you believe has not been followed. Attach additional information if necessary.
- 2. How would you like to see this issue/concern resolved?
- 3. Date requested field:

Date Reviewed:

Outcome: (describe resolution of issue/concern and forward information to the appropriate staff from both counties)

Supervisor Signature-Sending County______ Supervisor Signature-Receiving County______ Director Signature-Sending County______ Director Signature-Receiving County______ Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services (DMCPS) Signature: ______ Primary Issues/Concern: *Check all that apply Jurisdiction___Venue___Placement__Funding__CHIPS__JIPS__Youth justice___ Copies given to: Sending County Social Worker_____ Supervisor/Manager__Director___

Check Receiving County Social Worker Supervisor/Manager Director