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County Human Services Department
Adult Protective Services Fees 2020-2021

The                  County Human Services Department may file for guardianship under Wisconsin State Statute 54.34(1). The Human Services Department may also file for guardianship and for protective services or protective placement of an individual under Section 55.075(1). 
Individuals who are in need of guardianship or guardianship and protective placement must meet financial criteria in order for the Human Services Department to petition on their behalf.
Financial criteria are as follows, utilizing the Federal Poverty Level Guidelines and Wisconsin Guidelines for Individuals who are Elders, Blind or Disabled:
Income:
Family Size 1- $1595.00
Family Size 2- $2155.01
Family Size 3- $2715.00
Family Size 4- $3275.00
Family Size 5- $3835.01
Family Size 6- $4395.00
Assets:
Individual- $2000
Married couple/family- $3000
In cases when youth are turning 18 are in need of guardianship, family household income shall be used to determine if financial criteria is met for the Department to petition for guardianship. Exceptions include youth who are adopted, in foster care or who are enrolled with the State’s Children’s Long Term Support Program.
For individuals or couples whose verified income and assets fall below the above specified amounts, the Human Services Department will file any and all petitions that are necessary to secure guardianship or guardianship and protective placement without cost to the proposed ward. If an individual or couple’s verified assets are higher than the above specified amounts the Human Services Department will provide referrals to appropriate agencies who can provide advice on filing with private counsel or pro bono.
Individuals or families may also choose to have the Human Services Department file petitions using the below fee schedule.
In emergency cases where asset amounts are not immediately able to be verified the Human Services Department will file petitions for guardianship or guardianship and protective placement as needed. Wisconsin State Statute 54.46(3)(a) and Statute 55.075(4)(a) allow the Court to award compensation to the petitioner from the ward or individual’s estate for legal expenses related to guardianship and protective services or protective placement.  If the County is the petitioner, it can seek such an award from the court. 
2020-2021 Fee Schedule:
· Temporary Guardianship Only- $200
· Permanent Guardianship Only- $250
· Permanent Guardianship and Protective Placement- $300
· Petition for Protective Placement Only- $200
· Annual protective placement review- $200
· Petition for Successor Guardianship with Hearing- $200
· Petition for Standby Guardianship with Hearing- $100
· Multidisciplinary review for protective placement petition filed by private counsel- $300
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